With A Side Of Thriftiness

The Life of a HouseWife… with a side of Thriftiness!

Great time to try Velveeta Skillets!

on March 22, 2012

I wanted to share a bit as to how to maximize your dollar!  Match sales witih coupons!!  And, don’t give in to your impulses.  Whenever a new product is introduced, I tend to want to buy it… just so I can try it! It takes self-control, but it pays off.  Here’s my most recent example…

Fairly new on the market, Velveeta proves they are more than just Cheese or Shells & Cheese!  They’ve introduced Velveeta Skillets!  I’ve been wanting to try it, but have been waiting until there was a coupon!  In Sunday’s (3/18) SmartSource (SS) insert, there was a coupon for: Velveeta Cheesy Skillets Dinner Kits or Cheesy Potatoes, expiring 4/18/12.  The value of this Q is $0.75/1.  Their on sale this week at the Oberlin IGA, 2/$4.   It was time for me to buy! I had TWO Q’s, here’s how I got them for $0.50/ea!

  • Coupons with the face value of up to $0.99 are DOUBLED at IGA. 
  • I had TWO coupons for $0.75/1.  $0.75 x 2 (Qs) = $1.50 x 2 (doubling) = $3.00
  • Buy TWO boxes at 2/$4:  $4.00 – $3.00 in Qs = $1.00 for TWO 🙂

IGA’s shelf price was $2.89 each.  By being patient and applying coupons to sales, I saved $5.78 on two boxes… 83%!

**As IGA’s are independently owned, check with your local IGA to see if you can score the same deal!

Leave a Reply

