With A Side Of Thriftiness

The Life of a HouseWife… with a side of Thriftiness!

Target Deals valid thru 3/10

on March 9, 2012

If you have a local Target, check out all their deals!  There are several that I highly suggest that you check out.  Here are two FAB deals that you do not want to pass up (that I took advantage of)!

  1. Buy 5 Kellogg’s items and get a $5 Target Card in return.
  2. Buy 3 Olay Bar Soap or Body Washes and get a $5 Target Card in return.

Awesome, right?!  Here’s a pic of my purchases:

I qualified for both deals and broke up my purchases into 3 transactions.  Here’s how it played out:

  1. First Transaction:  I bought 5 boxes of Kellogg’s Eggo Waffles, they were on sale for $2.00ea.  I had two coupons that I used.  The 1st was $1.25 off of 3 Eggo Waffles (printable coupon that is no longer available) and the 2nd was $0.75 off 2 Eggo Waffles (from last week’s RedPlum insert).   Now for the Math:  5 boxes x $2 = $10 – (coupons) $1.25 – $0.75= $8.00.  I also bought 5 Breathe Right Strips (2ct). Target has these for only $0.99ea, BUT I had 5 $1.50 coupons for any Breathe Right 12ct and smaller.  This was my money maker. I earned $2.55 towards the eggo purchase (math: 5 x $.99 = $4.95 – coupons ($1.50×5 =$7.50) = $2.55 overage.    So, the Eggo purchase price of $8.00 –  (overage) $2.55 = $5.45 Out of Pocket +tax.  The cashier then gave me the $5 Target Gift Card because I bought 5 Kelloggs items.
  2. Second Transaction: I bought 3 bottles of Olay Body Wash.  They were on sale for $5.00ea.  I had three coupons that I used, $2.00 of the purchase of any Olay Body Wash (P&G 3/4 Insert).  Math:  3 bottles x $5.00ea = $15.00 – $5 Target Gift Card from 1st Transaction= $10.00- Coupons ($2.00 x3 = $6.00) = $4.00 Out of Pocket +tax.  The cashier then gave me another $5 Target Gift Card because I bought 3 Olay items.
  3. Third and Final Transaction:  The items that I NEEDED.  A Shower Liner ($5.99) and Cascade Action Packs (4pk for $0.97).  I had a coupon for the Cascade valued at $0.50.  Math:  $5.99+ ($0.97-$0.50= $0.74) = $6.73 – $5 Target Gift Card = $1.73 Out of Pocket +tax for the items that I needed!

All in all, I experienced about $12 OOP and got: 5 boxes of Kellogg’s Eggo Waffles, 3 Olay Body Washes, 1 4pk of Cascade, 5 2ct packs of Breath Right Strips and a Shower Liner.  Successful trip in saving near $40 🙂

Leave a Reply

